Configuration 'quickscan'

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1498
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby raboof » Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:09 am

studio32 wrote:fs.inotify.max_user_watches = 524288


Still don't see what this does and why it's a good thing...[/quote]

With inotify, you can tell the kernel 'let me know if this file changes'. Without inotify, you'd have 'poll': hit the filessytem periodically to check if the file has changed yourself. That would lead to disk i/o, which is something you want to reduce to a minimum. AFAIK this setting increases the number of files you can put an 'inotify watch' on.

I seem to remember I copied this recommendation for a fairly trustworthy source, but I can't find it anymore - if I google, all I get is many people running this script ;).

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2370
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby studio32 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:10 am

I don't see any license in the script...

tertl3
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:37 am

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby tertl3 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:58 pm

raboof wrote:
studio32 wrote:fs.inotify.max_user_watches = 524288


Still don't see what this does and why it's a good thing...


I am just curious about the particular number, 524288. Is that just an arbitrary large number?
Would it be o.k. to say, use a number n, where n >= 524288?

DLC11
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby DLC11 » Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:19 am

tertl3 wrote:
raboof wrote:
studio32 wrote:fs.inotify.max_user_watches = 524288


Still don't see what this does and why it's a good thing...


I am just curious about the particular number, 524288. Is that just an arbitrary large number?
Would it be o.k. to say, use a number n, where n >= 524288?


It is a power of 2. 2^19. Doesn't exactly answer the question though. Perhaps 2^18 would be too few, and 2^20 would be too expensive? I don't know why it would have to be power of 2, though. Perhaps there is a reason.

tertl3
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:37 am

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby tertl3 » Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:50 am

I'm just curious about the particular number, 524288. Is that just an arbitrary large number?
Would it be o.k. to say, use a number n, where n >= 524288?[/quote]

It is a power of 2. 2^19. Doesn't exactly answer the question though. Perhaps 2^18 would be too few, and 2^20 would be too expensive? I don't know why it would have to be power of 2, though. Perhaps there is a reason
.

Yes, I am curious about this. I didn't know that it was a power of 2. That narrows it down some. Does anyone know what fs.inotify is set to initially?

User avatar
autostatic
Established Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby autostatic » Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:48 am

tertl3 wrote:Does anyone know what fs.inotify is set to initially?
That depends on your distro. Ubuntu uses 8192.
And the value of 524288, maybe it's the maximal possible value?

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1498
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby raboof » Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:22 am

studio32 wrote:I don't see any license in the script...

Added GPL license texts to all files

User avatar
confusion_music
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:49 pm

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby confusion_music » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:21 pm

Absolutely brilliant is what I would like to say about quickscan.

I have only been using linux for about a year and only recently shelled out on a nice new cpu, lots of ram, new mobo etc. I've spent the last few weeks trying to work out why my performance seemed to be lacking (already had an m-audio 2496) and why I was getting really annoying xruns even at really high latencies.

Now its all gravy, thanks so much.

Bruce

User avatar
maghoxfr
Established Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby maghoxfr » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:54 pm

I can't run the script, I've read all this thread but didn't find the solution. I'm not sure what to do with all the content of https://realtimeconfigquickscan.googlecode.com/hg/. I only copied the "realTimeConfigQuickScan.pl" on a text and made it executable. But I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Can't locate QuickScanEngine.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/local/lib/perl/5.10.1 /usr/local/share/perl/5.10.1 /usr/lib/perl5 /usr/share/perl5 /usr/lib/perl/5.10 /usr/share/perl/5.10 /usr/local/lib/site_perl .) at /home/maghox/diagnostico.pl line 21.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /home/maghox/diagnostico.pl line 21.


I see that on the link there's the QuickScanEngine.pm mentioned in the error message, but I don't really know what to do about it. Does anyone know how to fix this? Thanks

User avatar
autostatic
Established Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby autostatic » Fri Feb 25, 2011 7:54 pm


User avatar
maghoxfr
Established Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby maghoxfr » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:09 pm



Thanks, I did that and got this back

Code: Select all

hg clone https://realtimeconfigquickscan.googlecode.com/hg/ realtimeconfigquickscan
requesting all changes
adding changesets
adding manifests
adding file changes
added 19 changesets with 51 changes to 16 files
updating to branch default
16 files updated, 0 files merged, 0 files removed, 0 files unresolved


But how do I run it? I'm really lost.

User avatar
autostatic
Established Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby autostatic » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:27 pm

http://code.google.com/p/realtimeconfigquickscan/

So download everything you need:

Code: Select all

hg clone https://realtimeconfigquickscan.googlecode.com/hg/ realtimeconfigquickscan

cd into the directory that just got created:

Code: Select all

cd realtimeconfigquickscan

And run the script:

Code: Select all

perl ./QuickScan.pl

User avatar
maghoxfr
Established Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby maghoxfr » Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:22 am

Thanks Jeremy, it worked. Really helpful script.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2156
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby funkmuscle » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:42 am

Hey guys, for regular usage of my computer, I use my stock kernel, will the script cause that kernel problems?

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1498
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Configuration 'quickscan'

Postby raboof » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:53 pm

funkmuscle wrote:Hey guys, for regular usage of my computer, I use my stock kernel, will the script cause that kernel problems?

The script only collects information and gives suggestions based on that, so no, it will not cause problems.


Return to “System Tuning and Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest