Samplerate mismatch

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Samplerate mismatch

Postby lilith » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:11 pm

Some days ago with my old KXStudio 14.04 configuration I've got when starting Ardour via the terminal the message:

Code: Select all

convolution: samplerate mismatch preset:48000 host:44100


Now with Debian 9 the same message. The strange thing is that my Interface is set to 48kHz and also in Jack / Cadence I see 48kHz, even the Ardour Project is 48 kHz. I also can change the rate of the interface via changing the rate in Jack. So everything works, but where does this message come from???

I googled and find basically only my own threads or very recent ones from 2018 *lol*.

Qtractor shows the same in the info window.

When I set the interface and JAck to 44.1 kHz I get also:

Code: Select all

convolution: samplerate mismatch preset:48000 host:44100


This makes no sense at all .... :lol:
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby GMaq » Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:39 am

Hi,

Have you started any applications that use JACK before launching Cadence?

I don't use Cadence but I have had it happen if I launch Carla or use jalv they will start their own process with JACK D-bus, then later I start JACK and 'jackdbus' is already running and you can end up with 2 jack processes at 2 different sample rates... That's probably not what's happening to you but it's just a guess, Does your session have some kind of convolver plugin running?

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby lilith » Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:50 am

No, it happens if I just start Cadence and an empty Ardour project without anything directly after booting and there's nothing else running.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

finotti
Established Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby finotti » Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:20 pm

FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby lilith » Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:45 pm

finotti wrote:FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.


Ah... that's good to hear. :D Thanks!
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

elerale
Established Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:45 am

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby elerale » Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:15 pm

Same thing here but it doesn't seem to be causing any issue.

Cheers
Erwan

Frank Carvalho
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby Frank Carvalho » Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:20 pm

lilith wrote:
finotti wrote:FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.


Ah... that's good to hear. :D Thanks!


Or perhaps *not* to hear? :-)
Vox, Selmer, Yamaha and Leslie amplifiers. Rickenbacker, Epiphone, Ibanez, Washburn, Segovia, Yamaha and Fender guitars. Hammond, Moog, Roland, Korg, Yamaha, Crumar, Ensoniq and Mellotron keyboards. Xubuntu+KXStudio recording setup.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby lilith » Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:07 pm

:mrgreen:
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

ConduitStudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Postby ConduitStudio » Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:17 pm

I've been getting the same error, but they unfortunately end with Segmentation Fault, and I can't run programs like Audaciy, Guitarix, Jalv.Select...

I've uninstalled everything convolver related, one by one, LOL, and the problem is "zita-convolver" from the community repos (arch linux). Guitarix won't start without it, I've removed zita-convolver but leaving other packages related to it (using

Code: Select all

sudo pacman -Rdd zita-convolver
), and Guitarix wouldn't start

Code: Select all

guitarix: error while loading shared libraries: libzita-convolver.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

All the other convolver packages didn't seem to make any difference. My system is also set to 48khz.

Maybe there's a way to make zita-convolver skip this samplerate check (as it is totally wrong, LOL)??


Return to “System Tuning and Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest